GOMO – How to make it your summer!

I just want to start this post by saying, you are your biggest obstacle!

“If you want to conquer the anxiety of life, live in the moment, live in the breath.”

― Amit Ray, Om Chanting and Meditation

What does he mean? Well, if you are somebody who refrains from attending social events, you like to keep yourself to yourself, an introvert who would rather sit at home watching tv shows but still kind of wants to get out of their shell, then now is the perfect opportunity.

Eventbrite have launched a campaign called GOMO (going out more often) instead of FOMO (fear of missing out). This could be your defining summer. I can’t express how much regret I have with the summers of fun I missed out on. The experiences I missed out on, the friendships I could have made and the places I could have been.

I personally find that there is nothing worse than being asked what did you get up to and you replying “bugger all”. You just sound lame and boring. The reality of the situation is, you want to be the guy/girl who lists all the amazing things they do.

I get it, you don’t have anything to prove, you are a great person and well fun to be around. People just need to take the time to get to know you. With that being said, if you never show it how will anyone ever know, right?

Use this summer to not only have fun but to become a better version of you. The people you could potentially meet will not only help you grow as a person but will give you perspective on what you actually enjoy doing.

Here are some things you can do this summer!

Walks

Go for walks – I can’t explain how regularly I do this and how each time I go for a stroll, the better I feel. I find it very soothing and relaxing especially with the weather being so great.

summer walks

Exercise

I find exercise to be the single most relieving thing you can do. It really helps me unwind. I feel great all day and we now know that exercise can release endorphins which is why we feel great after.

16396955125_0bbdd23e25_z

Volunteer

There are tons of volunteering schemes you can do throughout London. A simple search will show a whole array of things to do, for example, you can volunteer at bikeworks. If that doesn’t take your fancy, there are other areas you can volunteer in.

volunteer

Festivals

There are so many great festivals you can go to. Grab a friend and make them go or if you have the cash, buy them a ticket. Here is a list of the top festivals happening this summer.

festival

Holidays

If you have the cash, go on a road trip with your friends. It doesn’t even have to be expensive. This summer, me and my friends are road tripping across Europe. Specifically, France-Belgium-Germany. Road trips are always so much banter and I’d rather be out and about exploring and making a fool of myself than sitting at home trying to decide what to watch!

beach

To Do list

If there is something you know you have been wanting to do for a while but because you’re a mug and you keep putting it off, now is the perfect chance to do them. I knew I wanted to start a blog, so I did, hi guys 🙂

 

I also wanted to hit a new personal record at the gym and I did! Strive for the little progression each week in whatever you want to do, over time it will add up and you will only have yourself to thank.

Get in shape

I have written articles on how to get into shape. If you’ve always wanted to be slim this could be your chance. There is a lot of misinformation out there when in actual fact losing fat is so easy and the best part is you don’t have to give up foods or skip socials.

 

3362067196_7e57070a36_z

Whatever it may be, use this free time to do something. You will be so happy at the end of the summer that you did something positive and you won’t be that person who has nothing to add to a conversation.

If you are feeling extra confident, organise your own event. Eventbrite will provide you with the means to sell tickets!

Yours

-S

 

 

 

  

Leave a Reply

